Science Fiction Research Association 2009 Award Winners

Lisa Yaszek, SFRA President, announced the 2009 winners of SFRA’s professional awards on Friday.  Congratulations to this year’s winners:

The Pilgrim Award for lifetime contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship goes to Brian Attebery;

The Pioneer Award for the best critical essay-length work of the year goes to Neil Easterbrook for “Giving An Account of Oneself”: Ethics, Alterity, _Air_”;

The Clareson Award for for Distinguished Service to SF and fantasy scholarship goes to Hal Hall;

The Mary Kay Bray Award for the best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the _SFRA Review_ in the past year goes to Sandor Klapcsik for his review of _Rewired_ (SFRAR #284); and

The Graduate Student Paper Award for the best essay presented at the 2008 SFRA conference:
Dave Higgins for “The Imperial Unconscious: Samuel R. Delany’s _The Fall of the Towers_.”

Join us in Atlanta, Georgia to congratulate the winners during the award presentations at the 40th annual SFRA Conference with the dual themes of Engineering the Future and Southern-Fried Science Fiction and Fantasy on June 11-14 2009.

Published by Jason W. Ellis

I am an Associate Professor of English at the New York City College of Technology, CUNY whose teaching includes composition and technical communication, and research focuses on science fiction, neuroscience, and digital technology. Also, I coordinate the City Tech Science Fiction Collection, which holds more than 600 linear feet of magazines, anthologies, novels, and research publications.