SFRA 2010, Saturday, Awards Banquet

On Saturday evening as the temperature descended from 114 degrees, everyone converged on the Carefree Opera House pictured above for the prebanquet reception and awards banquet. The reception inside the western themed (and air conditioned) opera house was a pleasant beginning to the evening. SFRA members mingled and chatted over drinks and hors d’oeuvres. Then,Continue reading “SFRA 2010, Saturday, Awards Banquet”

2010 John W. Campbell, Jr. Conference July 16-18

James Gunn sent out the following reminder about the John W. Campbell, Jr. Conference in Lawrence, KS. Two years ago, it was held in conjunction with the SFRA Conference, and a good time was had by all. Read below for the details: Lawrence, KS—New stars will shine at the annual John W. Campbell Science FictionContinue reading “2010 John W. Campbell, Jr. Conference July 16-18”

Science Fiction Research Association 2009 Award Winners

Lisa Yaszek, SFRA President, announced the 2009 winners of SFRA’s professional awards on Friday.  Congratulations to this year’s winners: The Pilgrim Award for lifetime contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship goes to Brian Attebery; The Pioneer Award for the best critical essay-length work of the year goes to Neil Easterbrook for “Giving An Account ofContinue reading “Science Fiction Research Association 2009 Award Winners”

The International Fantasy Award

While researching a paper that I’m writing on the exchange of real and cultural capital in the major Science Fiction awards, I ran across this bit of trivia.  I always considered the Hugo Award the oldest major SF award, but according to Reginald’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Awards (1991), this distinction goes to the nowContinue reading “The International Fantasy Award”

SFRA 2008 – Friday Awards Ceremony

On the way to the ceremony, I had the opportunity to talk to Jim Gunn and tell him that we share the same birthday (July 12).  Also, I ran into Kathleen Ann Goonan, who had just arrived to the hotel after dealing with a myriad of travel complications.  Luckily, she did arrive on time, andContinue reading “SFRA 2008 – Friday Awards Ceremony”

Nebula Awards Finalists Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America recently announced the finalists for this year’s Nebula Awards: Novel: Ragamuffin by Tobias Buckell, The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon, The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman, The New Moon’s Arms by Nalo Hopkinson, Odyssey by Jack McDevitt Novella: “Awakening” by Judith Berman, “The Helper andContinue reading “Nebula Awards Finalists Announced”